Mostly an ordinary day, apart from the leaving do of a former colleague, Rosa, in the evening.  I met another former colleague, Suzanne, for a couple of drinks before the meal.  I can recommend the Edinburgh Bramble gin cocktail in Biblos.  We had two each because it was so delicious.  Not a good idea on an empty stomach – it went to my head a little too quickly!

This was followed by a few hours in the company of former colleagues and some others who’ve joined the research group since I left it 4 years ago.  As I sat in a French restaurant in a Scottish city, eating an Italian pizza and drinking French wine, it struck me how diverse this group of people was.  I did a quick tally of the nationalities present around the table:

  • Dutch
  • English
  • German
  • Greek
  • Irish
  • Italian
  • Maltese
  • Moroccan
  • Scottish
  • Spanish

I guess that’s one of the benefits of living in a city with a world-leading university: lots of people want to be associated with it.

My former boss, in his ‘good luck and thank you’ talk, used the theme of building bridges to thank our colleague for all of the work she had done in bringing several diverse groups of researchers together.  I think that’s being done by people simply coming to work in the same place I work.

 

Image: https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/8/80/Collection-national-flags.png.  Attribution: http://flagburnıngworld.comCreative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported license.

 

