YouTube has been around for so long now that life wouldn’t be the same without it.

I have used it extensively to search for videos of my favourite musicians.  Playlists can be really useful in bringing together a whole set of videos.  I do wonder about the copyright issues involved with such videos, though, especially when they are clips of interviews and performances from radio and television.

My interest in uploading videos to YouTube is limited.  A few short ones are on my account but it’s not something I check regularly.  I tend to use Facebook as most of my videos are taken at family gatherings and would be of no interest to anyone else.

Vimeo was something I looked at when it first came out but haven’t bothered with much.  You’re more likely to find me checking out videos on Vevo https://www.vevo.com/ as that’s where my favourite band posts music and other videos.

I can access Media Hopper but haven’t looked at it for a while.  I’m generally too busy at work to have the time to see what’s happening on that particular channel!

I took a few minutes and checked YouTube’s Terms of Service.  A few interested me:

7.2 You retain all of your ownership rights in your Content, but you are required to grant limited licence rights to YouTube and other users of the Service. These are described in paragraph 8 of these Terms (Rights you licence).

and

8.1 When you upload or post Content to YouTube, you grant:

A.    to YouTube, a worldwide, non-exclusive, royalty-free, transferable licence (with right to sub-licence) to use, reproduce, distribute, prepare derivative works of, display, and perform that Content in connection with the provision of the Service and otherwise in connection with the provision of the Service and YouTube’s business, including without limitation for promoting and redistributing part or all of the Service (and derivative works thereof) in any media formats and through any media channels;

I guess that’s the price we pay for a free service – they get to make money out of our work!  Not much of a surprise really.

 

 

Image: https://pixabay.com/en/buttons-player-media-multimedia-36036/ by Clker-Free-Vector-Images https://pixabay.com/en/users/Clker-Free-Vector-Images-3736/.  CC0 Public Domain

